Back Forum Reply New

Just found on Ebay

news too.... anyway, now you know what it's all about. Let the flames begin!



     

To my knowledge this is only a GPL violation if he doesn't provide the source code.

Gosh, 'LuxuriosityVideo', what a crappy name.

What a pity you can't attach comments to ebay items

EDIT:
Ok, they try to sell almost everything good amp; free. Time to make this public.

man... not even a decent attempt to make it look like he didn't just change 1 line of code and sell it as a new product...

@Belgabor:
yes, of course, it's only a violation of the GPL if they don't include full source or change or remove credits or copyright notices from the source or the binary.

But seeing how even the NAME of the program is changed (for pretty much everything he sells), I seriously doubt he will comply with the GPL by including full source and leaving credits and copyright notices intact. However, I guess this is why Avery asks for someone who actually bought the program to contact him. He wants to make sure it's a GPL violation before making it public.

So, was anyone here stupid enough to buy any of these quot;productsquot; - preferrably quot;LuxuriousityVideoquot;, as we're in the Vdub forum?

Originally posted by Mr.Shine
So, was anyone here stupid enough to buy any of these quot;productsquot; - preferrably quot;LuxuriousityVideoquot;, as we're in the Vdub forum?

Well if you put it that way I don't think anyone will respond to that .

Originally posted by Mr.Shine
[
So, was anyone here stupid enough to buy any of these quot;productsquot; - preferrably quot;LuxuriousityVideoquot;, as we're in the Vdub forum? [/B]

Oh, how you are wrong.
Human stupid is out of limits.  

welcome to the dark side of OSS.

these are the apps they're selling:

Audacity as Luxuriosity Sound

VirtualDub as Luxuriosity Video

The Gimp as Luxuriosity Photo

Open Office (or star office) as Luxuriosity Office

QCad as Luxuriosity CAD

MySQL as SQL Server

WebGUI as Luxuriosity Content Management System

Compiere as Luxuriosity Business Management Software

overall, nice package of the best OSS software available today. each for about $10. and, if they provide the source as temp1xkts.zip burried 3 directories deep, then no one can do anything about it...

ps, aren't the CD covers and the apps 'new' names the silliest you've ever seen???

Originally posted by avih
and, if they provide the source as temp1xkts.zip burried 3 directories deep, then no one can do anything about it...

Don't give the owner of that site ideas, (s)he might be lurking .

if this isn't illegal it should be.


  Technical Contact, Zone Contact:     Gregg Collins     Collins, Gregg     8814 Betty Way     West Hollywood, CA 90069-3901     US     310-657-2367     greglosang@AOL.COM
  Domain created on 20-Jul-1998  Domain expires on 19-Jul-2004  Last updated on 05-Nov-2001
  Domain servers in listed order:
  DNS1.GREGGSMUSIC.COM           DNS2.GREGGSMUSIC.COM

quot;

His mailbox will be filled tomm

I've never quot;mail-bombquot; nobody before,
but I think I'm gonna give it a try...

take it easy guys. you're not better than them if you start mail bombing.

1st, read the entire description of each of their products. besides the change of name, they don't actually claim to have developed it. with some of the apps they say it's a collective development by others. they only say they provide quot;community cd distribution and supportquot;.

for me it just seems right on the edge. leagal or not is not for me to say, as i don't know if they provide the sources (on some of their 'products' they say they do provide the sources), and if they comply to the licenses.

i can say that imho, it's completely immoral. but that's just mho.
if you want to fight them, try in peace first, and decide on further action only after you got (or didn't) a respond.

Originally posted by avih
take it easy guys. you're not better than them if you start mail bombing.

Originally posted by avih
if you want to fight them, try in peace first, and decide on further action only after you got (or didn't) a respond.

Amen.

When I first saw this site/auctions mentioned, I heard stuff like quot;let's DDoSquot; and similar. That's stupid and childish, not to mention illegal, just like mailbombing.

First, find out IF he doesn't comply with the GPL. Then, decide on further actions. And yes, it might involve test-buying the program(s) or finding someone who did buy them and agrees to give out a copy.

Just kidding

That guy may just be providing a service to people who are too lazy to download or don't have internet access, a bit like Mandrakestore.

[I guess this statement is a paradox in itself, because how could someone bid on Ebay if they don't have internet access]

I still think what he is doing is lame.

If he did just that there would be no need giving the programs a crappy name and he should also give the source and the info which programs his stuff is based on on his page.

Few days ago, I sent a collective email to all the apps authours.
So far, I've got responds from Compiere, MySQL and OpenOffice. I've heard rumors that Avery Lee knows about it as well.

Open Office is tracking the situation. MySQL forwarded it to their leagal department, and Compiere is checking out some issues as well. it's clear to all they these LUXURIOUSITY ppl are right on the edge, and in some cases, might have just got over it.just fyi.

.
¥
Back Forum Reply New